I got the Power!

by Hannah Klomp

JUST TO get you all in the mood, just have a quick look at this video here.

Seriously every time I think of this week’s lecture, I get this image in my head of Jim Carrey singing ‘I got the Power!” I know, how silly am I? Though seriously I do have the power, really we all have the power nowadays because of the great internet.

There has been a massive transformation and change recently in the roles that we, the audience have taken in the internet because of the way media has gone through convergence. Nowadays, we are able to have access to constant news updates, and are able to easily be a part of the world, wide web from really anywhere around the world. Nowadays, the internet has changed from a monological media platform, allowing participants to not only be consumers, but to also become prosumers in this dialogic media era. This, therefore results in a participatory culture which has enabled information to broadcast through a many to many communication channel with either a weak gatekeeper or even no gatekeeper at all.

I found both the lecture and this week’s reading by Clay Shirky (here) very interesting and I was able to significantly relate to the idea that the audience no longer exists, but have become ‘media users as I have become a prosumer in not only this blog, but through other media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr. These platforms have allowed me to become a reporter about different issues on my blog, as well as to become a photographer broadcasting both different aspects in my own life as well as in society on Facebook and Tumblr. It is really amazing to see and be a witness to this transformation of the internet, and citizen’s contribution and connection to society as a whole. I personally think that nowadays, there is a need for this power. Technologies, such as Facebook, Twitter and even more now are pushing people to be a part of the society and the media, and for us not to grab onto this aspect firmly with both hands would be ridiculous. I am glad that the idea surrounding the prosumer is becoming more and more aware in society, to be able to put forward not only new perspectives and opinions but to also convey ideas in a more emotional and thorough way.

What do you guys think about the new ‘prosumer?’

Image Source: http://www.carcabot.com/marketing/marketing-for-prosumers-a-new-label-applied-to-consumers/

