Facebook is Fit

by Hannah Klomp

Facebook doesn’t seem to be all that safe after all. With all the speculations to do with its privacy and they the ways that people communicate with other people over Facebook, causing fights and other detromental events to occur as a result but how about the way Facebook can promote a negative body image? Have you ever thought about that?

Through my own experiences while having a Facebook page and the way that it can make me more conscious about my body image and my weight, I have been able to really empathise with some of the issues that I have been researching about Facebook’s influence. In an article found on The Knox News website, I discovered a research study conducted by a mental health hospital in Baltimore about the influence that Facebook can have on people’s body image.

One of the studies conducted found that 51% per cent of Facebook users involved in the study said that Facebook makes them more conscious about their body image. This statistic clearly identifies how Facebook has become an unsafe place for people regarding body image and as the director of the Sheppard Pratt Centre states is that:

“Facebook is making it easier for people to spend more time and energy criticizing their own bodies and wishing they looked like someone else”

This is also shown by the comments that are found on people’s photographs on Facebook. Just go take a look now, see how many people use ‘fat talk,’ such as “I wish I had skinny legs like yours!” to comment and seemingly try to make another person feel good, by using this kind of speech to promote an unhealthy body image towards themselves. What has really caught my attention about the influence of Facebook is how easily accessed it is. Facebook had over 500 million users in 2011 and it just really made me wonder about how Facebook could be detrimental to so many people’s body image. I think that nowadays society really needs to be weary of what they are being exposed to, so that they are able to be protected in the greatest way possible.

What do you think about Facebook’s influence on body image? Does it affect you?

Image Source: http://www.digitaltrends.com/social-media/five-ways-facebook-can-be-bad-for-your-mental-health/

